Thursday, August 9, 2012

2011-2012 French Ligue 1 Season Review

The 2011-2012 French Ligue 1 had a surprise winner in Montpellier HSC with the club winning its first Ligue 1 title in its history. Montpellier was led by striker Oliver Giroud who tied for the most goals and had the most shots on target and along with fellow prospect Eden Hazard (Lille)  will play next season in the English Premiership after major transfers during this summer. The other story in French Soccer is the continuing development Paris St-Germain who despite heavy spending finished second in 2011-2012, but has continue to bring players in and look to be heavy favorites for years to come.

Final Standings

Top Individual Player's Statistics for League based on Minutes Played

Other Statistical Leaders
Goals: Nene (PSG) 21, Giroud (Mon) 21, Hazard (Lil) 20, 2 players with 16.
Headed Goals: Remy (Mar) 6, Privat (Sch) 5, 5 players with 4.
Free Kick Goals: Grougi (Bre) 4, Ekoko (Ren) 2, Hazard (Lil) 2, 21 players with 1.
Goals Outside Box: Grougi (Bre) 5, Giroud (Mon) 5, 3 players with 4.
Assists: Hazard (Lil) 15, Valbuena (Mar) 13, Menez (PSG) 12, Nene (PSG) 11.
Shots on Target: Giroud (Mon) 78, Hazard (Mon) 61, Nene (PSG) 55, Aubameyang (StE) 54.
Game Winners: Gomis (Lyn) 8, Nene (PSG) 7, Giroud (Mon) 7, Gouffran (Bor) 6.
Fouls Committed: Romao (Lor) 86, Giroud (Mon) 81, Cohade (Val) 74, 2 players with 71
Yellow Cards: Menez (PSG) 12, Mostefa (Aja) 12, Cavlli (Aja) 12, 3 players with 11.
Red Cards: Mignot (StE) 3, 12 players with 2.

2011-2012 Top 10 Players based on Statistical Output & Long Term Player Value
 1. Eden Hazard - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-1-eden-hazard.html
 2. Olivier Giroud - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-2-olivier-giroud.html
 3. Javier Pastore - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-3-javier-pastore.html
 4. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/4-pierre-emerick-aubameyang.html
 5. Jeremy Menez - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-5-jeremy-menez.html
 6. Younes Belhanda - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-6-younes-belhanda.html
 7. Yann M'Vila - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-7-yann-mvila.html
 8. Kevin Gameiro - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-8-kevin-gameiro.html
 9. Marvin Martin - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-9-marvin-martin.html
10. Loic Remy - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/06/french-ligue-1-10-loic-remy.html

1 comment: